Collazzone
Access
Introduction
Description
Collazzone is situated on a hill in an area rich in woodland, oak, pine and olive trees, ensuring a healthy and welcoming climate. Its territory, crossed by the River Tiber and the Puglia stream, is, thanks to the views it offers and its abundance of greenery, particularly well-suited to a relaxing holiday. Of particular interest is the Church of San Lorenzo, built on what was once the keep of the castle; inside, it houses a precious polychrome wooden sculpture dating from the 13th century, depicting the Madonna and Child. In Piazzetta Jacopone, created from the monastery’s ancient cloister, stands the Town Hall, whose portal is attributed to Vignola. To its right is the 16th-century noble coat of arms of Bishop Angelo Cesi, who commissioned the restoration of the entire monastic complex. Not far from the centre lie the Church and Franciscan Monastery of San Lorenzo, dating from the XII–XIV, which was first a Benedictine abbey and then a Poor Clare monastery until 1370, the year the monastic community moved to Collazzone Castle; inside is the Romanesque crypt dating from the 9th–12th centuries. Countess Matilde, mother of Blessed Simone da Collazzone—who renounced his wealth to follow the Franciscan rule (Collazzone 1208–Spoleto 1250). According to a secular and purely hagiographic tradition, the monastery is said to have been the final refuge of Jacopone da Todi, who is said to have died there on Christmas Eve 1306.
The hilly countryside around Collazzone, nestled in the greenery of the Umbrian countryside, offers nature lovers the chance to explore footpaths that highlight the area’s environmental and scenic riches and allow visitors to discover a wide variety of plant and animal species, ruins of ancient water mills, convents and castles. Furthermore, along the route, you can stop at the sulphurous spring or the old mine, where lignite was extracted from the early 1900s until the end of the Second World War. In Collepepe, in the ‘Le Carceri’ area, there is a site of archaeological interest dating from the late Republican period to the early Imperial period, consisting of two large cisterns that have recently been restored. All the small villages in the municipality of Collazzone – from Assignano to Canalicchio, from Casalalta to Collepepe, from Gaglietole to Piedicolle – enclosed by defensive walls, have a medieval layout and an even more ancient origin, dating back, in almost all cases, to Roman-era ‘predia’. The numerous churches in the area house works of art dating from the 13th century onwards; in particular, a painting depicting *The Last Supper* (17th century) by Andrea Polinori in Gaglietole, a 15th-century fresco of the *Madonna and Child* in Casalalta, and important 17th- and 18th-century paintings in Canalicchio.
In Collazzone, olive cultivation and the production of extra virgin olive oil represent an ancient tradition, as evidenced by the many documents and historical accounts attesting to the presence of olive mills throughout the area. The local cuisine revives ancient recipes and traditional dishes such as ‘torta al testo’, bruschetta, various types of ‘schiacciata’, the cheese-filled Easter cake, game, and desserts such as ‘brustengolo’ and ‘torcolo’, which are characteristic of the whole area.
Information
Area: 55.68 km²
Altitude: 469 m
Highest point:
Population: 3,798
Name in the local dialect: Tutere (Etruscan name) - Colonia Julia Fida Tuder (Roman name)
Name of inhabitants: Collazzonesi
Patron saint: Saint Lawrence (10 August)
Website: www.comune.todi.pg.it
Webcam:
Neighbouring municipalities: Bettona, Deruta, Fratta Todina, Gualdo Cattaneo, Marsciano, Todi
Villages and hamlets: Assignano, Canalicchio, Casalalta, Collepepe, Gaglietole, Piedicolle